IAF AFCAT 01/2027 Notification Out: Apply 12 Nov–11 Dec 2026 for Flying & Ground Duty Officer Posts
Quick Highlights at a Glance
Table of Contents
- Introduction — AFCAT 01/2027 at a Glance
- About the Indian Air Force
- Important Dates
- Vacancy Details & Course Numbers
- Commission Types Explained — PC vs SSC
- Eligibility Criteria
- Age Limit & Date-of-Birth Windows
- Salary, Allowances, Insurance & Privileges
- Application Fee
- Selection Process
- AFCAT & EKT Exam Pattern
- Physical, Medical & Tattoo Standards
- Training at Air Force Academy, Dundigal
- How to Apply Online
- General Instructions, TA Rules & Helplines
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Important Links
1. Introduction — AFCAT 01/2027 at a Glance
The Indian Air Force (IAF) has released the short notification for the Air Force Common Admission Test (AFCAT) 01/2027, along with the NCC Special Entry and GATE Score Entry, for officer courses beginning in January 2028. Online registration runs from 12 November 2026 (11:00 AM) to 11 December 2026 (11:30 PM) exclusively on the EDCIL-managed portal afcat.edcil.co.in. Both men and women who are Indian citizens under the Citizenship Act, 1955 can apply.
This cycle recruits commissioned officers into three streams: the Flying Branch (as Short Service Commission officers), the Ground Duty (Technical) Branch (Aeronautical Engineering — Electronics and Mechanical), and the Ground Duty (Non-Technical) Branch, which covers Weapon Systems, Administration, Logistics, Accounts, Education and Meteorology. Selected candidates will join training at the Air Force Academy, Dundigal (Hyderabad) in the first week of January 2028 and will be commissioned as Flying Officers at Pay Level 10.
This guide brings together every fact published in the official advertisement — eligibility windows, the commission-type rules that decide whether you get a pension, the ₹1.25 crore insurance cover, tattoo and marital-status restrictions, travel allowance conditions and helpline routing — and explains what each one means for your application. Where the short notice defers details (qualifications, exam pattern, physical standards) to the detailed notification, we have used the rules applied in previous AFCAT cycles and labelled them clearly so you know what to re-check after 12 November 2026.
Editorial Note: This article is prepared by the Vacancy Vedika Editorial Team from the official AFCAT 01/2027 short notification (Advt. CBC 10801/11/0018/2627) published on 2 November 2026. Branch-wise vacancy numbers, the exam date and detailed eligibility tables will be published by the IAF in the detailed notification expected on 12 November 2026. We will update this page as soon as it is released. Always treat the official notification as final.
About the "379 posts" figure: Several job portals are already advertising AFCAT 01/2027 as a 379-post recruitment. The official short notice does not state any total — every branch reads "as published in Notification for induction cycle 01/2027". The figure of 379 matches the previous AFCAT 02/2026 cycle. Please do not rely on it until the IAF publishes the official vacancy table.
2. About the Indian Air Force
The Indian Air Force is the air arm of the Indian Armed Forces under the Ministry of Defence. It was established on 8 October 1932 and today operates one of the largest air forces in the world. Its officer cadre is recruited through four main routes: the National Defence Academy (NDA), the Combined Defence Services Examination (CDSE), AFCAT and special entries such as NCC and GATE. AFCAT is the IAF's own entrance test for graduates and is held twice a year — the "01" cycle for courses starting in January and the "02" cycle for courses starting in July.
For the 01/2027 cycle, the online examination and registration process is managed by EDCIL (Educational Consultants India Limited) on behalf of the IAF. Eligibility, Air Force Selection Board (AFSB) allotment, interview dates, merit lists and joining instructions are handled by the IAF directly.
Organization Profile
- Full Name: Indian Air Force (Bhartiya Vayu Sena)
- Parent Ministry: Ministry of Defence, Government of India
- Founded: 8 October 1932
- Recruitment Exam: Air Force Common Admission Test (AFCAT) — twice a year
- Training Institution: Air Force Academy, Dundigal (Hyderabad, Telangana)
- Exam Portal: afcat.edcil.co.in
- Official Website: indianairforce.nic.in
If you are a 10+2 candidate rather than a graduate, the IAF's airmen route is covered in our IAF Agniveervayu Intake 01/2027 guide.
3. Important Dates
The AFCAT 01/2027 application window is open for 30 days, from 12 November 2026 to 11 December 2026. The short notice fixes only the registration window and the course start date. The exam date will be confirmed in the detailed notification.
| Event | Date | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Short notification published | 2 November 2026 | Released |
| Detailed notification (vacancies, eligibility tables) | 12 November 2026 (expected) | Awaited |
| Online registration opens | 12 November 2026, 11:00 AM | Upcoming |
| Online registration closes | 11 December 2026, 11:30 PM | Upcoming |
| Admit card | To be announced (about 10 days before exam in past cycles) | Awaited |
| AFCAT 01/2027 online exam | To be announced (AFCAT 01/2026 was held on 31 January 2026) | Awaited |
| AFSB interviews | After the AFCAT result | Awaited |
| Course commencement | First week of January 2028 | Confirmed |
| Age-reckoning date | 1 January 2028 | Confirmed |
Pro Tip: Past AFCAT cycles have seen heavy portal load in the last three days. The 01/2026 deadline was extended from 14 to 19 December 2025, but extensions are never guaranteed. Aim to submit before 5 December 2026.
4. Vacancy Details & Course Numbers
The AFCAT 01/2027 short notice lists seven course numbers across three entries but does not publish vacancy counts; all figures will appear in the detailed notification for induction cycle 01/2027. The course number tells you the commission type: "PC" means Permanent Commission, "SSC" means Short Service Commission, "28F" refers to the 2028 Flying course, "28T" to the Technical course and "28G" to the Ground Duty (Non-Technical) course.
| Entry | Branch | Course Number(s) | Vacancies |
|---|---|---|---|
| AFCAT Entry | Flying | 223/28F/SSC/M&W | As per detailed notification |
| Ground Duty (Technical) | 222/28T/PC/112AEC/M&W 222/28T/SSC/112AEC/M&W | As per detailed notification | |
| Ground Duty (Non-Technical) — Adm, Lgs, Accts, Edn, Met | 222/28G/SSC/M&W | As per detailed notification | |
| Ground Duty (Non-Technical) — Weapon Systems | 222/28G/PC/M&W 222/28G/SSC/M&W | As per detailed notification | |
| NCC Special Entry | Flying | 223/28F/PC/M and 223/28F/SSC/M&W | 10% of CDSE PC seats + 10% of AFCAT SSC seats |
| GATE Score Entry | Ground Duty (Technical) | 222/28T/PC/112AEC/M&W 222/28T/SSC/112AEC/M&W | As per detailed notification |
Three details in this table are easy to miss. First, two seats out of the Ground Duty (Non-Technical) vacancies are reserved for law-qualified candidates. Second, the NCC Special Entry is the only route in this notification that offers a Permanent Commission in the Flying Branch — and that PC course is listed for men only. Third, the IAF states that vacancies are indicative and may change depending on training slots, cadre controls and the actual number of vacancies arising in January 2028; no representation about vacancy changes will be entertained.
Historical context: AFCAT 01/2026 was notified for about 340 vacancies and AFCAT 02/2026 for 379. These are useful benchmarks, but the 01/2027 figure can differ significantly. We will add the official branch-wise table here once it is released.
5. Commission Types Explained — PC vs SSC
The type of commission you receive decides how long you serve and whether you get a pension, so it matters as much as the branch you choose. In AFCAT 01/2027, Flying Branch candidates through AFCAT receive only a Short Service Commission, while Ground Duty (Technical) and Weapon Systems candidates can be granted either PC or SSC.
| Feature | Permanent Commission (PC) | SSC — Flying Branch | SSC — Ground Duty (Tech & Non-Tech) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who gets it | Men & women in branches offering PC | Men & women | Men & women |
| Initial tenure | Until superannuation age for the rank | 14 years from commissioning | 10 years from commissioning |
| Extension | Not applicable | Not mentioned in notice | Up to 4 years (subject to vacancies, willingness, suitability, merit) |
| Conversion to PC | Not applicable | Possible later, subject to vacancies and merit | Possible later, subject to vacancies and merit |
| Pension | Yes | No | No |
| Post-service insurance (AVIC) | Yes, if retiring after 20+ years | Yes, after 14 years of service | Yes, after 14 years of service |
The practical takeaway is simple. An SSC Ground Duty officer who completes the standard 10 years leaves without a pension and without the AVIC post-retirement cover, which starts only at 14 years of service. Taking the 4-year extension brings that officer to 14 years and makes them eligible for AVIC — a factor worth considering when the extension decision comes.
Remember: The notice states plainly that SSC officers are not entitled to pension. Grant of PC to an SSC officer at a later date is discretionary and depends on service requirements, vacancies and merit — it is not guaranteed.
6. Eligibility Criteria
To apply for AFCAT 01/2027, you must be an Indian citizen, unmarried at the start of the course, within the branch age window, and hold the branch-specific degree with the required marks. The short notice confirms nationality, age and marital rules; it refers educational qualifications to the detailed notification. The qualification cards below reflect the rules applied in AFCAT 01/2026 and 02/2026 and should be re-checked after 12 November 2026.
Nationality & Marital Status
- Applicants must be citizens of India as per the Citizenship Act, 1955. Both men and women are invited.
- Candidates must be unmarried at the time the course begins. Marriage during training is not permitted — a cadet who marries is discharged and must refund all expenditure incurred by the Government.
Educational Qualifications (as per previous AFCAT cycles)
Flying Branch
- 10+2 with minimum 50% marks each in Mathematics and Physics
- Plus a graduation (3-year) in any discipline with minimum 60%, OR
- B.E./B.Tech (4-year) with minimum 60%, OR
- Associate Membership of Institution of Engineers / Aeronautical Society of India (Sections A & B) with 60%
Ground Duty (Technical) — AE(L) & AE(M)
- 10+2 with minimum 50% marks each in Mathematics and Physics
- 4-year engineering/technology degree in the notified disciplines with minimum 60%, OR equivalent AMIE/AMIETE/Graduate IETE with 60%
- GATE Score Entry: same qualification plus a valid GATE score in the notified papers
Ground Duty (Non-Tech) — Weapon Systems
- 10+2 with minimum 50% marks each in Mathematics and Physics
- Graduation in any discipline (3-year) with minimum 60%, or B.E./B.Tech with 60%
Administration & Logistics
- Graduation in any discipline (3-year) with minimum 60%, OR
- B.E./B.Tech with 60%, OR equivalent professional qualification
- Two Ground Duty (Non-Tech) seats are reserved for law graduates
Accounts
- B.Com (3-year) with minimum 60%, OR
- BBA/BMS/BBS with Finance specialisation and 60%, OR
- CA / CMA / CS / CFA qualification
Education & Meteorology
- Education: Post-graduation in notified disciplines with 50%, plus graduation with 60%
- Meteorology: Post-graduation in notified science disciplines with 50%, plus 55% in Mathematics and Physics at graduation level
Final-year students have been allowed to apply in past cycles, provided they produce proof of degree completion with the required marks by the date set in the notification. For the NCC Special Entry, candidates have previously needed an NCC Air Wing Senior Division "C" certificate in addition to the Flying Branch qualification.
For the full branch-by-branch qualification matrix, the exact engineering disciplines accepted for AE(L) and AE(M), and the document proof you will need at AFSB, read our AFCAT 01/2027 eligibility criteria guide.7. Age Limit & Date-of-Birth Windows
Age for AFCAT 01/2027 is calculated as on 1 January 2028. Flying Branch candidates must be 20–24 years old, and Ground Duty candidates (including GATE Score Entry) must be 20–26 years old. The upper limit for Flying is relaxed to 26 years only for holders of a valid Commercial Pilot Licence (CPL) issued by DGCA.
| Branch / Entry | Age Range (as on 01 Jan 2028) | Born Between (both dates inclusive) |
|---|---|---|
| Flying Branch (AFCAT & NCC) | 20 to 24 years | 02 January 2004 – 01 January 2008 |
| Flying Branch — valid DGCA CPL holders | 20 to 26 years | 02 January 2002 – 01 January 2008 |
| Ground Duty (Technical) — AFCAT & GATE | 20 to 26 years | 02 January 2002 – 01 January 2008 |
| Ground Duty (Non-Technical) | 20 to 26 years | 02 January 2002 – 01 January 2008 |
Notice that every branch shares the same latest permissible birth date (1 January 2008), so the minimum age is uniform. The difference lies only in the oldest permissible date. Unlike civilian government recruitments, AFCAT does not provide category-based age relaxation for OBC, SC or ST candidates; the CPL relaxation for Flying is the only relaxation mentioned in the short notice.
Date-of-Birth Alert: The IAF has stated that details entered in the online form are final and no amendments will be allowed later. Enter your date of birth exactly as it appears on your Class 10 certificate.
8. Salary, Allowances, Insurance & Privileges
A Flying Officer commissioned through AFCAT 01/2027 is placed at Level 10 of the Defence Pay Matrix (₹56,100–₹1,77,500) and also receives Military Service Pay (MSP) of ₹15,500 per month. During training, flight cadets receive a fixed stipend of ₹56,100 per month.
Pay Structure
The ₹71,600 figure is the entry basic pay plus MSP, before Dearness Allowance, HRA or transport allowance is added. Allowances depend on your branch, the nature of your duty and your posting location.
Allowances Named in the Notice
- Flying Allowance — for Flying Branch officers
- Technical Allowance — for eligible technical officers
- Transport Allowance
- Test Pilot & Flight Test Engineer Allowance
- Risk and Hardship Allowance — for difficult postings
Insurance Cover
| Scheme | Cover | Who Qualifies |
|---|---|---|
| Air Force Group Insurance Society (AFGIS) | ₹1.25 crore (on contribution) | All serving officers — payable on death in service |
| Air Veterans Insurance Cover (AVIC) — first 15 years after retirement | ₹24 lakh | PC officers retiring after 20+ years; SSC officers after 14+ years |
| AVIC — thereafter until age 75 | ₹12 lakh | Same as above |
Privileges
- Furnished accommodation
- Comprehensive medical cover for the officer and dependents
- Canteen and Officers' Mess facilities
- Loans at subsidised interest rates
- Leave Travel Concession (LTC)
- 60 days of annual leave and 20 days of casual leave, subject to service needs
- Sports and adventure activities such as sky diving, micro-light flying, mountaineering and water rafting
Pension Note: Pension is available only to Permanent Commission officers. SSC officers — which includes every Flying Branch officer joining through the AFCAT entry — are not entitled to pension.
9. Application Fee
Only AFCAT Entry candidates pay an examination fee of ₹550 plus GST; NCC Special Entry and GATE Score Entry candidates pay nothing. The fee is non-refundable and is paid online during registration.
| Entry | Examination Fee | Refundable? |
|---|---|---|
| AFCAT Entry (Flying, Ground Duty Tech & Non-Tech) | ₹550 + GST | No |
| NCC Special Entry (Flying) | Nil | — |
| GATE Score Entry (Ground Duty Technical) | Nil | — |
The fee is the same for all categories — AFCAT has no fee concession based on gender or caste. The accepted payment modes (net banking, debit/credit card, UPI) will be listed in the detailed notification. If you are eligible for more than one entry, remember that each entry has a separate registration; registering for NCC or GATE does not exempt you from the AFCAT fee if you also register for the AFCAT entry.
10. Selection Process
AFCAT 01/2027 selection follows a multi-stage process: an online test, a five-day Air Force Selection Board (AFSB) assessment, a pilot aptitude test for Flying candidates, a medical examination, and a final all-India merit list. The short notice refers the full procedure to the detailed notification; the stages below are those used in recent cycles.
AFCAT Entry candidates take the computer-based test. Ground Duty (Technical) candidates also take the Engineering Knowledge Test. NCC and GATE entry candidates are exempt from the online test and are called to the AFSB directly on the basis of their entry eligibility.
The Officer Intelligence Rating test and the Picture Perception and Discussion Test are conducted on day one. Candidates who do not clear Stage I are sent back the same day.
Over the following days, candidates go through psychological tests, Group Testing Officer tasks and a personal interview. Together these assess officer-like qualities.
Flying Branch candidates who are recommended take the CPSS. This is a once-in-a-lifetime test, and a candidate who fails it cannot attempt it again.
Recommended candidates are medically examined against the IAF's branch-specific standards. Flying candidates are held to the strictest standards.
The final merit is prepared from AFCAT and AFSB performance, subject to medical fitness and the number of vacancies. Selected candidates receive joining instructions for the Air Force Academy.
The IAF advises candidates to be physically fit when reporting to the AFSB, because physical tests are part of the assessment. TA rules for the AFSB journey are explained in the General Instructions section below.
Our AFCAT 01/2027 selection process guide walks through each of the five AFSB days, the CPSS format, and how the final merit list is ranked.11. AFCAT & EKT Exam Pattern
In recent cycles, the AFCAT online exam has had 100 objective questions worth 300 marks in 2 hours, with +3 marks for each correct answer and −1 for each wrong one. Ground Duty (Technical) candidates take an additional Engineering Knowledge Test (EKT). The 01/2027 short notice confirms only that the test is online at various centres; treat the pattern below as the previous-cycle reference.
| Test | Subjects | Questions | Marks | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AFCAT (all AFCAT Entry candidates) | General Awareness, Verbal Ability in English, Numerical Ability, Reasoning & Military Aptitude | 100 | 300 | 2 hours |
| EKT (Ground Duty Technical only) | Mechanical, Computer Science, Electrical & Electronics | 50 | 150 | 45 minutes |
| Marking Scheme: +3 for correct, −1 for incorrect, 0 for unattempted (previous cycles) | ||||
Negative marking makes accuracy more valuable than attempt count. Two candidates with the same raw attempts can end up far apart in score if one guesses aggressively. Cut-offs are published by the IAF after each cycle and vary between cycles.
For a section-wise question split, topic-level syllabus for all four AFCAT sections and the EKT, and previous cut-off trends, see our AFCAT 2027 syllabus and exam pattern page.12. Physical, Medical & Tattoo Standards
The short notice refers physical and medical standards to the detailed notification, but it spells out two rules that disqualify many candidates every year: the permanent tattoo policy and the drug-testing rule. Both are explained below, followed by the height requirements used in previous cycles.
Tattoo Policy
| Tattoo Location / Type | Permitted? | Condition |
|---|---|---|
| Inner face of forearms (inside of elbow to wrist) | Yes | Self-declaration certificate required |
| Reverse (back/dorsal) side of the palm | Yes | Self-declaration certificate required |
| Small innocuous tattoos (religious symbols, names of loved ones) | Yes | Must not be prejudicial to good order and military discipline |
| Tribal tattoo marks on face or body as per customs | Case by case | Per existing customs and traditions |
| Any other body part, visible or not | No | Permanent tattoos not permitted |
Narcotics: Use or possession of narcotic or psychotropic substances is banned. Candidates may be tested during the medical examination and during training. A cadet found using or possessing narcotics at any time in training will be debarred from joining the IAF.
Height Standards (as per previous cycles)
| Branch | Men — Minimum Height | Women — Minimum Height |
|---|---|---|
| Flying Branch | 162.5 cm (plus leg-length and sitting-height limits) | 162.5 cm (plus leg-length and sitting-height limits) |
| Ground Duty (Technical & Non-Technical) | 157.5 cm | 152 cm |
Flying candidates are also measured for leg length, thigh length and sitting height because these affect cockpit fit. Eyesight standards are strictest for the Flying Branch. Height relaxations have historically applied to candidates from certain hill regions and communities; the detailed notification will confirm the current list.
For the complete height–weight chart, the cockpit-fit body measurements for pilots, eyesight standards by branch, and common reasons for medical rejection, read our AFCAT 01/2027 physical and medical standards guide.13. Training at Air Force Academy, Dundigal
Training for all AFCAT 01/2027 courses begins in the first week of January 2028 at the Air Force Academy, Dundigal (Hyderabad). It lasts 74 weeks for the Flying and Ground Duty (Technical) branches and 50 weeks for the Ground Duty (Non-Technical) branches, at the Academy and other Air Force training establishments.
| Branch | Training Duration | Start | Stipend |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flying | 74 weeks | First week of January 2028 | ₹56,100 PM |
| Ground Duty (Technical) | 74 weeks | First week of January 2028 | ₹56,100 PM |
| Ground Duty (Non-Technical) | 50 weeks | First week of January 2028 | ₹56,100 PM |
Documents Mandatory at Joining
- PAN Card — mandatory when joining the Academy
- Bank account in SBI or any nationalised bank — mandatory when joining the Academy
- Aadhaar Card — mandatory at the time of registration
Physical training at the Academy includes running, swimming, rope climbing and other conditioning, and cadets face mandatory tests during training. The IAF recommends that prospective candidates start conditioning before reporting so they can adapt quickly.
14. How to Apply Online
Applications for AFCAT 01/2027 are accepted only online at afcat.edcil.co.in between 12 November and 11 December 2026. The portal has separate tabs for AFCAT Entry, NCC Special Entry and GATE Score Entry, and you must register separately for each entry you are eligible for.
Download the detailed notification from the portal after 12 November 2026 and confirm your branch qualification, age window and medical standards before starting.
Open the AFCAT Entry, NCC Special Entry or GATE Score Entry tab. If you are eligible for more than one entry, complete a separate registration in each tab.
Use an email ID and mobile number that you will keep active throughout the selection process. All admit cards, AFSB call-ups and joining updates are sent to these.
Enter details exactly as they appear on your Class 10 certificate and degree mark sheets. Pay special attention to your date of birth, because no amendments are allowed after submission.
Upload your photograph, signature and other documents in the size and format given in the detailed notification. Keep your Aadhaar Card handy, as it is mandatory for registration.
AFCAT Entry candidates pay ₹550 plus GST online. NCC and GATE entry candidates do not pay any fee. Submit the form and save a copy of the confirmation page.
No Corrections After Submission: The IAF has stated that the information you fill in the online form will be treated as final. Review every field before you pay and submit.
15. General Instructions, TA Rules & Helplines
Beyond eligibility, the AFCAT 01/2027 notice sets out rules on travel allowance, communication and conduct that directly affect candidates. These are summarised below.
Travel Allowance (TA) for AFSB
- First-time AFSB candidates are reimbursed the to-and-fro fare by the shortest route — AC-III Tier, AC Chair Car, or the actual bus fare.
- For other modes of travel, TA is paid as per Government rules.
- No TA is paid if you have already appeared before any Selection Board for the same type of entry.
- You must give an active Savings Bank account in your own name. Accounts such as Sukanya Samriddhi, or accounts in another person's name, are not accepted.
- Tickets and bank details must be furnished within one month of the start of your SSB. After that, no TA claim is paid and the amount is returned to the Government.
Other Key Rules
- Keep your registered email ID and mobile number active throughout the selection process.
- Information in the advertisement and on the website is guidance only. In case of ambiguity, IAF and Government of India policies and rules as amended from time to time are final.
- Selection is fair and merit-based. Any attempt to influence the process, or the use of forgery, impersonation or false information, can lead to cancellation of candidature or termination of service, and legal action.
Helplines
| Query Type | Contact |
|---|---|
| Online exam, registration process, admit cards | Phone: +91 9513252077 Email: afcathelpdesk@edcil.co.in |
| Eligibility, AFSB centre allotment, interview date, merit list, joining instructions | Phone: 011-23010231 Extn 7610 Toll-free: 1800-11-2448 |
Routing your query to the right helpline saves time: EDCIL handles only the exam and portal, while eligibility and AFSB matters go to the IAF.
16. Frequently Asked Questions
Below are the most commonly asked questions about AFCAT 01/2027. If your question is not answered here, please refer to the official notification or the AFCAT portal at afcat.edcil.co.in.
17. Important Links
| Description | Link |
|---|---|
| Apply Online (from 12 November 2026) | Apply Here |
| Detailed Notification PDF | afcat.edcil.co.in |
| Indian Air Force Official Website | indianairforce.nic.in |
| AFCAT 01/2027 Eligibility Criteria | Read Guide |
| AFCAT 01/2027 Vacancy Breakdown | Read Guide |
| AFCAT 01/2027 Age Limit & Relaxation | Read Guide |
| AFCAT Flying Officer Salary 2027 | Read Guide |
| AFCAT 01/2027 Selection Process | Read Guide |
| AFCAT 2027 Syllabus & Exam Pattern | Read Guide |
| AFCAT 01/2027 Physical & Medical Standards | Read Guide |
| AFCAT 01/2027 How to Apply | Read Guide |
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Online registration for AFCAT 01/2027 opens on 12 November 2026 at 11:00 AM and closes on 11 December 2026 at 11:30 PM. Applications are accepted only at afcat.edcil.co.in.
The official short notice does not state a total. Branch-wise vacancies will be published in the detailed notification for induction cycle 01/2027, expected on 12 November 2026. The 379 posts figure circulating online matches the previous AFCAT 02/2026 cycle and is not confirmed for 01/2027.
Age is calculated as on 1 January 2028. Flying Branch: 20 to 24 years (born 02 January 2004 to 01 January 2008), relaxed to 26 years for holders of a valid DGCA Commercial Pilot Licence. Ground Duty (Technical and Non-Technical): 20 to 26 years (born 02 January 2002 to 01 January 2008).
AFCAT Entry candidates pay ₹550 + GST, which is non-refundable. Candidates registering for the NCC Special Entry or GATE Score Entry do not pay any examination fee.
A Flying Officer is placed at Pay Level 10 (₹56,100 – ₹1,77,500) plus Military Service Pay of ₹15,500 per month, along with DA, HRA and branch allowances. Flight cadets receive a fixed stipend of ₹56,100 per month during training.
No. The notification states that SSC officers are not entitled to pension. Flying Branch officers joining through the AFCAT entry are commissioned as SSC officers for 14 years. Ground Duty SSC officers serve 10 years, extendable by up to 4 years. Grant of Permanent Commission later is possible but not guaranteed.
No. Candidates must be unmarried at the time the course begins, and marriage is not permitted during training. A cadet who marries during training is discharged and must refund all expenditure incurred by the Government.
Permanent tattoos are allowed only on the inner face of the forearms (elbow to wrist) and the back of the palms, with a self-declaration certificate. Small innocuous tattoos such as religious symbols are permitted. Tribal tattoo marks are considered case by case. Tattoos on any other body part are not permitted.
Training begins in the first week of January 2028 at the Air Force Academy, Dundigal (Hyderabad). It lasts 74 weeks for Flying and Ground Duty (Technical) and 50 weeks for Ground Duty (Non-Technical). A PAN card and an SBI or nationalised bank account are mandatory when joining.
Yes, if you are eligible. The portal has separate tabs for AFCAT Entry, NCC Special Entry and GATE Score Entry, and you must register separately for each entry. Details submitted in the online form are final and cannot be amended later.